ASA2 Review – How I Use Amazon Simple Affiliate For My Product Feature Boxes

/ Last Updated:

I’ve tried just about every Amazon affiliate plugin that you can imagine.

On my niche sites, I want to present the products that I’m promoting in a professional looking way that promotes clicks.

Clicks to Amazon. That’s what its all about!

After testing all of the various plugins, I’ve found that Amazon Simple Admin (ASA2) is the one I keep coming back to.

Other plugins that I’ve tried include Amalinks Pro and AAWP. For my sites where amazon products are not the main attraction (like this one) then I use Lasso.

ASA2 Review – The Basics

At its core, ASA2 is a plugin that makes it super easy to display amazon products and pricing (via the API).

With ASA2 I can create a beautiful display box like this one, with just a single basic shortcode.

Image 2020-05-09 at 10.22.18 PM.png
This is just one of the templates that ASA2 will display

ASA2 Review – Ease Of Use

The thing I love most about ASA2 is how easy and quick it is to insert a display box. Using just a single line shortcode and the ASIN, I can literally create the box in 10 seconds.

Here is the shortcode to create a display box like the one above:

[asa2 tpl=”horizontal_box”]AMZNASIN[/asa2]

Like, seriously, that’s it. All I need to know is the Amazon ASIN and ASA2 does the rest.

ASA2 Review – Multiple Templates

The display box shown above is just one of a multitude of display options, which ASA2 calls templates. After you begin to use ASA2, you will develop your list of “go-to” templates that work best for your site.

Make passive income with Amazon Simple Affiliate (ASA2) for WordPress

There are templates of different shapes and sizes that will fit anywhere on your site. There are templates specifically for books & dvd’s, carousel type templates, vertical displays, etc…

I love that each template is 100% customizable from the settings page and you can even use CSS if you have a very specific styling need.

Here are some of my other favorite templates that I use often:

Image 2020-05-10 at 10.06.04 AM.png
Image 2020-05-10 at 10.06.59 AM.png
Image 2020-05-10 at 10.08.35 AM.png

ASA2 Review – Customization

As I mentioned before, I love the customization options of ASA2. I can be particular about how my sites look (to a fault some times). I like having the ability to “make it mine”.

Here are just a few of the hundreds of customization options:

  • Colors
  • Show price or not
  • Show product features or not
  • Show buy button or not
  • Insert custom affiliate disclaimer
  • Image size (small, medium, large)
  • and many, many more

Here is a screen capture of one of the customization screens to give you an idea:

Screen Recording 2020-05-09 at 11.00.15.38 PM.gif

ASA2 Review – Cost

ASA2 is not a free plugin, but that’s OK since it makes you bank!

All of licenses include the exact same features, the only difference is the number of sites you can use the plugin on. $59 per year for a plugin of this caliber is a steal! Click HERE to see the full list of features.

Image 2020-05-10 at 6.54.38 PM.png
Image 2020-05-10 at 6.55.23 PM.png
Image 2020-05-10 at 6.56.01 PM.png

ASA2 Review – Support Experience

I have had a few instances where I’ve needed support on the ASA2 plugin.

Once, when another plugin caused an issue where ASA2 would no longer automatically update.

Another when I was inquiring about how the plugin worked with Thrive Architect, before I quit using Thrive for Generatepress.

The other times I’ve used the support have simply been to submit feature requests (mostly from my wish list below).

Each time I’ve used support I’ve been impressed (and I’m hard to impress). The response is always within a few hours and resolution less than a day.

ASA2 Review – My Wish List

As much as I love ASA2, there are still a few things I wish were different or better.

Gutenberg Support – While I primarily use ASA2 by simply inserting the shortcodes by hand from products where I already know the ASIN. Occasionally though, I’d like to use the Product Picker which is only available via the classic editor.

Bundling Products – I’d like to be able to write an article where I promote a bundle of products (camera, strap, bag, etc…) and display them all together with one “Buy Now” button which adds all the products to the user’s cart.

Google Analytics Event Tracking – I wish I knew more about which affiliate links get clicks on my pages. Lasso, which is a competitor to ASA2 (and which I use on this website since I’m not promoting amazon products here) does this well.

ASA2 Review Conclusion

I’m a niche addict that is obsessed with pagespeed. That means that I take the decision to add a new plugin to my sites very seriously. ASA2 is one plugin that you will find on each and every one of my affiliate sites. If you are looking for a way to display product feature boxes from Amazon, then I strongly suggest ASA2.

1 thought on “ASA2 Review – How I Use Amazon Simple Affiliate For My Product Feature Boxes”

  1. Hi Jon,
    Great review! You should definitely download and use the chrome extension AMZ Table Assistant to automatically insert the ASIN into your ASA2 shortcodes.

    PS – I’m the creator of it. Let me know if you’d like a free product to use in exchange for a review of my extension.

    Reply

Leave a Comment